If you are one of thousands of people traveling to LBI, Seaside Heights, Asbury Park or any destination in Monmouth or Ocean County, be aware that police will be on the look-out for drunk drivers. Is that cooler, case, or six-pack of beer in your car sitting on your back seat, in the trunk, or stashed on the floor beside you? Do you have an open container in your vehicle? You could be facing a DWI charge and potentially a long list of other charges. Getting arrested might not have been on your mind in the excitement of loading up your car to head to the beaches, parties, picnics and fireworks. Maybe you stopped along the way to pick up a bottle of your favorite alcoholic beverage. Or, perhaps you headed out to a local bar for a few drinks to celebrate the summer holiday weekend. Law enforcement is patrolling and ready for the anticipated increase in traffic, drunk drivers, and DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) arrests. Are you?
Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey ( N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 )
If you operate or allow another driver to operate your motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% you will face a drunk driving charge.
New Jersey law states that a driver facing their first offense of driving while intoxicated with a blood alcohol of more than 0.08%, but less than 0.10% faces fines between $250 and $400 and charges for mandatory drunk driving classes.New Jersey courts can also impose imprisonment up to 30 days and losing driving privileges in New Jersey for up to 3 months. If convicted of a first offense intoxicated drivers with a blood alcohol of 0.10% or more will be facing fines between $300 and $500, charges for drunken driving classes between 12 and 48 hours, losing driving privileges in the state anywhere from 7 months to one year, court ordered jail time up to 30 days, and a list of costly fees and surcharges. Higher blood alcohol readings lead to increased penalties and charges. Driving while intoxicated for second and third offenders result in even stiffer penalties plus mandatory ignition interlock devices and a long list of fees and surcharges.
Statistics Show Labor Day Means More DWI Arrests for New Jersey Drivers
If you are on the roads over the holiday weekend you may have a greater chance of getting pulled over for a DWI, paying expensive fines, fees and surcharges, jail time and other penalties especially if you are in a car crash.
Don't Start Your Labor Day Weekend With A DUI
If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, it's important to speak with an experienced defense attorney like those at Villani & DeLuca. Call 732-965-3999 today for a free consultation.