Child Endangerment

(732) 372-0820

Child Endangerment

A driver charged with DWI while a child is a passenger in the vehicle may be also charged with DWI with a minor passenger per N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.15(c). A driver who is ultimately found guilty of a DWI while a child is a passenger in the vehicle will face fines in excess of $1,000.00, community service and up to six months of jail time. Those penalties will be applied in addition to any loss of driving privileges and other sentencing issued upon the related drunk driving conviction.

In addition to charging a driver with DWI with a minor passenger, a driver may also be charged with endangering the welfare of a child under N.J.S.A. 2C:24-4(a). Under this law, a child is defined as anyone under the age of sixteen years old. Endangering a child is considered to be any act that could cause the minor harm that would make the child an abused or neglected child. Depending on the level of harm determined by the court, one facing this charge can be convicted of a crime of the second or third degree.

Penalties for those convicted of endangering the welfare of a child are much more severe than the DWI with a minor passenger. A driver found guilty of endangering the welfare of a child may face as much as ten years in prison and $150,000 in fines.


Act Now Before It's Too Late!

Mistakes happen all of the time. If a mistake was made by the police or the New Jersey prosecution it should not hurt you and your family. Our experienced NJ DWI Defense Lawyers at Villani & DeLuca regularly protect the legal rights of people who have been charged with DWI / DUI or breath test refusal. This traffic offense carries the possibility of jail time and costly fines in New Jersey. The stakes are too high and the possible effects can last for years. A strong legal defense can often convince the courts to have your drunk driving charges dismissed or reduced so don't risk your future by trying to defend yourself against a DUI! Contact Villani & Deluca today for a FREE case evaluation on all your pending drunk driving charges.

Contact Us

For immediate assistance call our New Jersey DWI Legal team at (732) 372-0820.