This 4th of July weekend be prepared for DWI checkpoints on your journey back home from a late night party at a Point Pleasant, Seaside Heights or Long Beach Island bar. The number of summer DWI or sobriety checkpoints on Garden State Parkway have been increased. Jersey Shore party enthusiasts who drink excessively and still decide to drive may find it hard to escape these checkpoints. The New Jersey police is aggressively cracking down on them.
The police focus is on high DWI incidence areas across the state. It already began conducting weekend checkpoints in some places such as Toms River in Ocean County. A list of targeted areas for DWI checkpoints will be published on the New Jersey State Police Facebook page. This information will also be released in advance through press releases.
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
In New Jersey, the police will pursue DWI charges against anyone who drives a car with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of 0.08% or more. If the driver is underage, i.e. below 21 years, even a BAC of 0.01% is enough for DWI prosecution.
DWI is a serious offense in New Jersey and it involves tough penalties. First time DWI offenders will face fines ranging from $250 to $500, additional fees and surcharges plus possible jail time. Repeat DWI offenders face much higher monetary penalties and a jail terms. Other potential legal consequences of a DWI charge include ignition interlock device, mandatory participation in a state conducted alcohol education program as well as community service.
Call an Experienced NJ DWI Attorney
Contact the experienced New Jersey DWI lawyers of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. If you have been charged with DWI in New Jersey Call 732-965-3350 today for a free initial consultation. We represent clients throughout Ocean County and Monmouth County, New Jersey.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment