DWI Penalties In New Jersey
Penalties for a DWI conviction can be significant. If the driver is arrested and charged with DWI, the blood alcohol content (BAC) will be measured through a breathalyzer test or by other means. If the BAC level of a person over 21 is 0.08% or above, it is a violation of the law. If the person is under 21, a BAC level detecting as little as 0.01% is illegal. The penalties for a DWI conviction differ depending on the level of alcohol in the blood. A higher alcohol content (0.10% or above) will lead to harsher penalties. For a first time offender who has a BAC of 0.08% or above, a conviction can result in as much as 30 days in jail. The individual's driver's license will automatically be suspended for three months. There will be a fine of $250 to $400. In addition, the driver will have to pay surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years. There are other fees involved, and participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC) is also mandatory. Jail terms can be more significant and the judge can order that an interlock ignition device be installed on the driver's vehicle if the BAC is higher or if it is a second offense or greater. This device will require that the driver take a Breath test prior to the vehicle being able to start and will intermittently require the driver to take the test again while he or she is driving. Subsequent offenses and variables, such as the offense being committed in a school zone, can substantially raise the penalties.
Speak to an Experienced New Jersey DWI Attorney
If you or a loved one have been charged with a DWI in Belmar, Brick or any other town in Ocean County or Monmouth County, New Jersey, having proper legal representation by speaking to the attorneys at Villani & DeLuca can be key to your defense. The penalties for a DWI conviction are intimidating, and there is no benefit for pleading guilty or going to trial. If your DWI charge occurred in Ocean County or Monmouth County, contact one of the knowledgeable DWI defense lawyers at 732-965-3999 to discuss your case. Villani & DeLuca offers a FREE case evaluations.