Firm Articles

NJ is One Step Closer to Restricted Licenses

Posted by Carmine R. Villani | Sep 23, 2016 | 0 Comments

Depositphotos 39448335 s 2015

New Jersey Senate Bill No. S654 has been introduced, and if passed, drivers who have lost their license due to unpaid motor vehicle surcharges or points resulting from violations would be eligible for a restricted license. However, drivers convicted of driving under the influence would not be eligible.

Bill Proposed in New Jersey Senate

New Jersey Senate Bill No. S654 proposes to amend N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 and would create a restricted use driver's license endorsement to a basic driver's license. This endorsement would permit drivers who have unpaid surcharges or points only to drive to and from work, an accredited educational institution, a mandated treatment program, a health care facility or a child care facility. Drivers who have been convicted of drunk driving or refusing to take a breathalyzer test or who have surcharges due to drunken driving convictions would not be eligible for the proposed New Jersey restricted license.

Eligible drivers would be required to take a driver improvement course and would be able to apply for a payment plan for their unpaid surcharges.  A $25 fee would be charged for the NJ restrict use license.  A driver would regain their basic driver's license once the mandatory driver education is completed and all of the surcharges are paid.

Violation Penalties for Proposed Restricted NJ Licenses

Driving outside of the restrictions imposed by the license endorsement would include loss of the endorsement to the license and a fine of $500 to $1,000, 30 days of community service, and loss of a driver's license for one year.

If a driver holding a restrict use license violated the restricted use and  was convicted of causing an accident where there were injuries or fatalities the driver would face fines from $1,000 to $5,000, 30 days of community service and loss of a driver's license for 2 years.

Drivers with restricted use licenses who were convicted of drunk driving or refusing a breathalyzer test would face fines from $1,000 to $5,000 and a loss of their driver's license for 5 years.

The proposed NJ Senate Bill has valuable benefits for drivers who drive within the limitations of the proposed restricted license. It helps drivers meet their financial and other essential obligations by allowing drivers to drive to and from work, daycare, school and medical care.  However, serious consequences would result from any violation of the restrictions.

Traffic Violation Defense Lawyer In Ocean County

If you are facing the possibility of having your driver's license suspended speak with a defense attorney to help fight any pending traffic violations in court. Villani & DeLuca, P.C., has been helping clients facing possible suspension of their driving privileges for over 20 years. Call 732-965-3999 today for a free consultation.

About the Author

Carmine R. Villani

Founding partner, Carmine Villani, Esq. is a former municipal prosecutor with over 20 years experience in Criminal and DWI Defense.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Act Now Before It's Too Late!

Njdwilegal footer2

Mistakes happen all of the time. If a mistake was made by the police or the New Jersey prosecution it should not hurt you and your family. Our experienced NJ DWI Defense Lawyers at Villani & DeLuca regularly protect the legal rights of people who have been charged with DWI / DUI or breath test refusal. This traffic offense carries the possibility of jail time and costly fines in New Jersey. The stakes are too high and the possible effects can last for years. A strong legal defense can often convince the courts to have your drunk driving charges dismissed or reduced so don't risk your future by trying to defend yourself against a DUI! Contact Villani & Deluca today for a FREE case evaluation on all your pending drunk driving charges.

This website is designed for information purposes only and should not be construed as formal legal advice nor the formation of an attorney/client relationship.

Menu