According to Howell Police Chief, a 54-year-old Howell Township man in a 1988 Corvette illegally passed another driver and flipped the driver off as he sped past. Moments later, the man lost control of his Corvette, drove off the road and flipped the car over onto someone's front lawn. Fortunately for the man, despite his reckless behavior, he was not seriously injured. He got out of the car without assistance and was arrested for DWI, reckless driving and other offenses.
Drinking And Driving – Facts and Myths
In New Jersey, you can be convicted of a DWI if you drive a car after drinking and are found to have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher. Many people think they can have a few beers, glasses of wine or mixed drinks and drive anyway. This may be the case depending on whether they have eaten anything, the alcohol content of the beverage and the amount of time it took to consume the drinks. Again, there are other factors that may make this practice unsafe.
People who have driven a vehicle while “buzzed” and have not had an accident or been pulled over, often think they can do it time and again without any negative consequences. Many drunk drivers think that if they just drive slowly, it will be ok. Statistics show that they are wrong. According to the CDC, 1,816 people were killed in drunk driving incidents in New Jersey between 2003 and 2012. This figure does not reflect those people that survived but received severe, life-changing injuries. When driving a car, a person needs to be completely alert and aware. There are enough hazards on the road as it is… bad weather and road conditions, or people running lights or cutting you off while changing lanes. In New Jersey it is quite common to see deer running across the road. Add impaired judgment and slower reflexes to that equation and it is a recipe for disaster.
DWI Consequences in New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 39.4-50)
Consequences for a DWI conviction can be severe. Not to mention the regret you will face if another driver or a friend or family member in your car is injured or killed. First offenders are facing fines of $250 to $400, possible jail time of up to 30 days and a 3 month suspended license. If your blood alcohol level is 0.10% or higher, the fines are increased to $300 to $500 and your license can be suspended for up to a year. If you are caught driving drunk a second time within 10 years, the penalties are much harsher. Fines for a second conviction are between $500 and $1,000, you can receive 90 days in jail, 30 days of community service and a 2 year suspension of your license.
Charged with DWI? Call Today - We Can Help
If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, you need an experienced attorney. The lawyers at Villani & DeLuca, P.C. have over 20 years of experience defending drunk driving charges in New Jersey. Call us today at 732-965-3999 for a free consultation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment