Out Of State DWI Penalties In NJ

man being stopped by police

When traveling across the U.S., you must maintain and obey all of the laws and regulations of the current state you are driving through. If you are cited or arrested for an offense within another state, you are subject to that state's guidelines and sentence procedures. This includes traffic offenses such as speeding and DWI. New Jersey is part of what is called the Driver License Compact, which currently includes 45 states within the U.S. The Driver License Compact is an interstate compact used by states to exchange information concerning license suspensions and traffic violations of non-residents and forward them to the state where they are licensed — known as their "home state". The only states currently not participating in the Driver License Compact are Massachusetts, Wisconsin, Georgia, Tennessee and Michigan.

Out-of-State Driver Convicted Of DWI In New Jersey

If you are arrested in New Jersey and reside in another state or have an out of state drivers license, you are still held accountable to New Jersey mandatory sentencing and penalties for a DWI conviction. If you were arrested for DWI in NJ, but live in another state, you need to find an experienced attorney local to where you were arrested. The DWI Lawyers at Villani & DeLuca, P.C. are located in the shore town of Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey and understand the severity of a DWI conviction here in New Jersey.

1st DWI Conviction Penalties (BAC 0.08% – 0.09%)

  • 3 months driving privilege suspension
  • $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Insurance surcharge of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • $100 DUI enforcement surcharge
  • 6 months – 1 year installation of ignition interlock device after restoration of driving privileges

1st DWI Conviction Penalties (BAC 0.10% – 0.14%)

  • 7 months to 1 year driving privilege suspension
  • $300-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Insurance surcharge of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • $100 DUI enforcement surcharge
  • 6 months – 1 year installation of ignition interlock device after restoration of driving privileges (at judge's discretion)

1st DWI Conviction Penalties (BAC 0.15% and higher)

  • 7 months to 1 year driving privilege suspension
  • $300-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Insurance surcharge of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • $100 DUI enforcement surcharge
  • Required installation of ignition interlock device during suspension and for 6 months – 1 year after restoration of driving privileges

New Jersey has the authority to suspend your ability to drive on the roads of New Jersey. This means that you are considered driving while suspended for DWI if caught driving after a DWI conviction in the state. New Jersey will also report your violation to your home state, in which your state may then suspend your driver's license according to its guidelines for the offense. New Jersey's laws and sentencing for conviction of DWI are complex. If you are an out of state driver and you received a DWI charge while visiting New Jersey, it would be in your best interest to secure the services of an attorney with the experience of fighting DWI charges in New Jersey courts.


The attorneys at Villani & DeLuca, P.C. offer a FREE initial consultations over the phone. Call 732-965-3999 today to find out your rights concerning DWI for Non-Resident in New Jersey!

Act Now Before It's Too Late!

Njdwilegal footer2

Mistakes happen all the time. If a mistake was made by the police or the New Jersey prosecution it should not hurt you and your family. Our experienced NJ DWI Defense Lawyers at Villani & DeLuca regularly protect the legal rights of people who have been charged with DWI / DUI or breath test refusal. This traffic offense carries the possible of jail time and costly fines in New Jersey. The stakes are too high and can last for years. A strong legal defense can often convince the courts to have your drunk driving charges dismissed or reduced. Don't risk your future by defending yourself against a DUI! Contact Villani & Deluca today for a FREE case evaluation on all your pending drunk driving charges.

This website is designed for information purposes only and should not be construed as formal legal advice nor the formation of an attorney/client relationship.

Menu