Middletown, New Jersey Municipal Court
Being stopped for drunk driving in Middletown could land you in jail and will require a court date at Middletown Municipal Court. For more information visit the Middletown Municipal Court website for more information.
Middletown Municipal Court
1 Kings Highway
Middletown, NJ 07748
Driving While Intoxicated in Middletown
With the largest population in all of Monmouth County and access to the Garden State Parkway, Route 35 and other busy major roadways; Middletown Municipal Court hears many DWI cases each year. Drivers who are stopped and charged with DWI in Middletown can expect to face serious penalties, which vary in each individual case. Individuals who are charged with DWI sometimes make the mistake of assuming that they will be able to plead their case with the court, but in reality, New Jersey has some of the most stringent DWI laws in the country. At Villani & Deluca, our lawyers have represented those charged with DWI in Middletown and have provided guidance and assistance during this trying time.
Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol in Middletown
The start of a DWI charge comes with the initial traffic stop. A Middletown Police Officer will stop your vehicle after observing some sort of illegal maneuver which may not be related to your drunk driving. This could include something as simple as having something hanging off your rear view mirror which could obstruct your view.
In New Jersey N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 prohibits Middletown drivers from operating a motor vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs or controlled substances. This statute also sets the legal limit for a driver's blood alcohol concentration to be at 0.08%, so any person that is found to be at or above this reading will be charged with DWI. Middletown drivers who refuse a breath tests will be charged with refusal.
Once convicted for a first-time offense a driver will be facing a minimum driver's license suspension of 3 months, an insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for 3 years following the conviction, 12-48 hours participation at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, in addition to costly fines and time in jail. A blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 % is the designated legal limit, but in reality it is just the starting point as first-time offenders who have a BAC of .10% or greater will have increased penalties that include a license suspension of 7 months – a year and beyond that a driver who has a BAC of .15% can potentially lose their license for a year.
DWI Defense Attorneys in Middletown
DWI charges are a traffic violation and not a criminal charge. Drivers stopped with a BAC over the legal limit or drivers with previous DWI convictions face serious penalties. At the law firm of Villani & DeLuca, founding partner Carmine R. Villani, Esq. has been defending DWI cases for over 20 years. Every case is unique and brings with it a different set of circumstances. By calling Villani & DeLuca, P.C. at 732-965-3999 you can schedule a free consultation with Mr. Villani and the lawyers of our firm to discuss your case.